So, it would appear that I took the entire month of May off from blogging. I’m not sure why…I did an awful lot of staring at my laptop and not actually writing anything. This blog, for example, was done over the space of about two weeks, one sentence at a time. Call it writer’s block and then let’s move on, hand in hand, skipping gloriously towards the future.

First things first, it makes sense to start back with a quick overview of all that has happened, is happening and will happen in the near future. If you were in the Derry/Londonderry area over the past weekend, you may have been aware of the 2D Comic Festival/Heroes & Legends Convention they had going on. Reasonably gutted I couldn’t make it to this, but so many other things seemed to pop up and keep me busy. Since I wasn’t there and it’s over, I don’t think there’s any point in dissecting what could have been, but if you WERE there, I’d love to hear about it! Mosey on over the the Facebook page and talk to me.

Next up is, OF COURSE, the Game Of Thrones Exhibition that is coming to Titanic Belfast on Friday! Hurrah! Running from June 8th – 17th, it’s free free free. Unfortunately it is now sold out, but I would suggest keeping an eye open on their site, on the off chance any more are released? Maybe?

Anyway, rather than go to the effort of typing up a description of the darn thing myself, I have deftly nicked one from the Titanic Belfast website. Here you go.

Production for seasons 1-3 of Game of Thrones was based in Belfast, with filming taking place in Titanic Studios and across various Northern Ireland locations, including the North Coast, Tollymore Forest Park and Castle Ward.

The exhibition, presented by HBO and international partners, is free to the public and will focus on key characters from five of the noble houses (Stark, Lannister, Targaryen, Baratheon and Greyjoy), showcasing a treasure trove of more than 70 original artifacts from seasons 1 and 2, plus select pieces from this year’s new season.

Among the displays are:

Costumes, props, armor and weapons– Artisans, whose superb craftsmanship has provided authenticity to the medieval world of the show, worked closely with HBO to curate the exhibit with items including: an impressive costume display overseen by the show’s head costume designer Michele Clapton who dressed the mannequins to ensure accuracy in the presentation of the extraordinarily detailed garments, iconic artifacts such as model dragons, weaponry (King Joffrey’s crossbow, daggers and swords such as “Ice” and “Longclaw”), armor (helmets, shields and full suits of armor worn by key characters in the show), crowns, jewelry, books and much more.

Backwater Bay Interactive Experience – Fans will get an opportunity to participate in an exciting interactive experience that will place them amid the action of the epic battle of Blackwater Bay from season 2.

Iron Throne – Fit for any king or queen, fans will be able to take their photo on a precise replica of the iron throne from the series to post and share on social media sites.

The exhibit will also display an array of high end, official Game of Thrones merchandise from the HBO Shop®.

Game of Thrones merchandise, you say? Even thinking about this is draining my bank account. Drat.

So there is that to look forward to next week, I will try my hardest to get my head down and write you the loveliest, most detailed of all the blogs ever. Your face will melt with how good that blog will be, I promise.

Next up after the Game Of Thrones exhibition is the marvellous Q-Con, Queen’s annual gaming and anime convention, hosted by the QUB Dragonslayers (I did try to go to this one club, like, one time, but it was very much not for me. Sorry, geek world).

The convention runs from the 28th to the 30th of June, I presume in the Student’s Union, but opening times and timetables have yet to appear. I’ll keep an eye out and keep you posted, because I suppose that’s what I’m here for.

qubsu

The best thing about Q-Con in past years, as far as I am concerned, are the cosplayers! Both the very, very good and the very, very bad are endlessly entertaining, and every year there are bigger and better ideas and efforts.

I’m not sure whether I’ll be down to Q-Con or not yet (I have two jobs, leave me alone), but if I am…blog, face-melting, etc.

I think that covers the month of June fairly extensively, hopefully y’all will make it down to one of these awesome LOCAL events. It’s so much nicer when you don’t have to go all the way to Dublin/San Diego, huh? I will continue (most likely in vain) with my attempts to catch up on the events, happenings and movies of May (or, as it will now be known, ‘The Lost Month’), but in the meantime, go like my Facebook page and yell at me for abandoning you for so long.

S.

