Not even a Monday review, it’s freaking Tuesday and I am only getting around to this now. Oh, gentle, devoted readers, I am sorry. I am a but a weak willed little lady…and the chocolate eggs, they call to me. I spent my Easter weekend eating all my mother’s food (she dreads my visits, I bet), and talking to kids about Indonesian shadow puppets and Inuits.

No, really. I have a cool job, did I mention?

ANYWAY. The Sunday Review. The very, very late Sunday review.

In the past few weeks, I’ve reviewed books, movies, comics…all very serious, proper things. Wonderfully geeky and marvellous things. This week, I thought I might try and remind myself that this is a blog for those of us based (stuck) in the Northern Ireland area, and get a little bit ‘Norn Iron’ specific.

If you’re not from Northern Ireland, I apologise…but also, you should visit sometime, because it’s occasionally pretty and nice to look at.

While my own little home town mall is slowly closing down and turning into a…ghost mall (that’s definitely a thing) and Castlecourt has neglected to modernize since the mid-eighties, Victoria Square, in my opinion, is going from strength to strength. There is no other shopping centre in Northern Ireland that I take quite so much pleasure in dandering around, but most importantly, it’s the shopping centre that puts the most effort into drawing the people in and keeping them there. And not just children! Last week, there was a petting zoo! WITH A LLAMA.

On second thoughts, that might have been for children, but I enjoyed it more than they ever could have.

Moving on. The stores in Victoria Square have something that nowhere else really does (Lisburn, in particular); they have variety. If you need a quirky, fancy, thoughtful, funny gift for someone – this is the place to go. And oh, the subtle geekeries that domed paradise has to offer. Like…

THIS in Topshop/Topman.

THIS in Topshop/Topman

THIS (Rainbow Dash!) in Build-A-Bear.

THIS (Rainbow Dash!) in Build-A-Bear

THIS in Paperchase.

THIS in Paperchase

Such lovely things. And such lovely shops! If you REALLY want a fancy day of shopping, it’s fun to dress up real nice and stroll around House Of Fraser or Ted Baker and pretend you can afford things…

I never do that.

Honest.

S.

p.s. If you aren’t terrified of heights, climbing to the top of the Square and squinting at things from the Dome is must. As in, YOU MUST.

