Ladies and gentlemen, there’s a recession going on. I know, I know – I’m sick of hearing about it too, but things are getting pretty bad. My beloved Lisburn is becoming a ghost town; so many shops and businesses have closed that it surprises me that anyone has a job at all. Belfast is not much better, although the list of problems that city has going on at the minute would take a whole other blog/lifetime to document. Hell, even Primark is seeing hard times, things in there are getting expensive. For Primark. Still reasonable in comparison with real shops.

Primark is imaginary.

We’re even losing HMV! Who saw that coming? The place was queued out the door for two months before Christmas, over-priced everything and was pretty much the only place to buy (first hand) DVDs and such. Maybe if the staff had smiled more?

So. Here is my contribution. Cute and geeky things available on the high street at the moment. Yeah, the internet is great, but sometimes it’s nice to do some real shopping. Outside. Where the people are.

I suppose you could buy these things online, from where you’re sitting right now, but…delivery costs and…

Have a heart.

If this passes for fashion these days, I am finally ahead of the curve.

If this is what passes for fashion these days, I am finally ahead of the curve.

Actually, can someone buy me this? Please?

Actually, can someone buy me this? Please?

MUCH cheaper here than anywhere else I've seen similar things...

MUCH cheaper here than anywhere else I’ve seen similar things…

Boys get cooler pants than girls.

Boys get cooler pants than girls.

A cat! Wearing glasses!

A cat! Wearing glasses!

There. Go. Walk around your failing high street. Spend your earnings.

Unless you don’t have a job in which case, y’know, recession. Sorry.

S.

Facebook? Likey likey?

