I’m going to be honest…sometimes, I forget I have a blog. Other times, I remember I have a blog, but am far too busy doing something else to actually pay any attention to it. So much for new year’s resolutions to be committed to things, huh?

Anyway, a couple of weeks ago, I started ‘The Sunday Review’, which I fully intended to be a weekly thing. Alas, various family dramas and events (my little brother can now legally drink in America, hurrah) distracted me, and I haven’t quite got there. Curses. Rather than be lazy and leave it another week, I thought I would, instead, provide you with a slightly late Sunday review. On Monday. Monday Review doesn’t sound as snappy, does it?

So, for this review, I thought I would tell y’all about something else that has been seriously distracting me this week. I have finally discovered Star Wars: The Old Republic. It seemed appropriate, given the recent re-birth of media interest in this most glorious of franchises. JJ Abrams is on board, and all that.

This is not how I pictured him to look.

This is not how I pictured him to look.

Before anyone dares say anything, I have played World Of Warcraft in the past, and really enjoyed it, but my financial situation currently calls for a MMORPG that is free to play. And a diet consisting mainly of Tesco Value baked beans, but that’s irrelevant. While SWTOR is constantly reminding me of the treasures and boons that could be mine for a small monthly fee, I have managed (so far) to ignore this temptation, and carry on, merry and penniless. Admittedly, I haven’t been playing for that long (less than a week, really) and I never really get an awfully long time to immerse myself, because (a) I do have a life and (b) my laptop heats up to the point you could fry an egg on it after about twenty minutes.

Asides from the begging for money the game does and the huge amount of memory you have to sacrifice to please it, I highly recommend this game. It lags something shocking, and needs to update once every three days (apparently), but once you do get into the actual game play, it’s clever, well-written and reasonably challenging. The graphics are nothing to write home about, MMORPG’s rarely are, but the Star Wars universe is well represented, and the characters usually look vaguely like how you imagine they are supposed to.

Let’s talk classes. As with WoW, you start off by picking your allegiance (Imperial or Republic) and then pick a class designated within these parameters. I picked Imperial, of course, because it is so much more fun to be a bad guy. Rather than be swayed to using the dark side of the Force, I picked a Bounty Hunter character.

“No lightsaber?!” you cry. Not yet, although a second character is pretty inevitable later on, and I will probably go with Jedi. I felt I had to be a bounty hunter, as my boyfriend recently told me I couldn’t be Boba Fett. I don’t remember the context, but I assure you, it was not a compliment. I could be Boba Fett if I wanted to be Boba Fett, see.

No lightsaber...just guns and a flamethrower.

No lightsaber…just guns and a flamethrower.

Anyway, rather than divulge the intricacies of my story line thus far, I will instead encourage you to give up a considerable portion of your life to give this a go. Good luck, and may the force be with you.

SWTOR

I can’t believe I just said that.

S.

p.s. Like us on Facebook! Here!

