I have decided, in my infinite wisdom, that my blog needs to be more…regular. Steady. Organised. You may have noticed, I sort of blog and write and rant as the need takes me. Sometimes, this results in no blogs for a week, and sometimes, it results in three blogs a day.

So, now, on Sundays, I am going to review something. It can be anything. Something Northern Irish and touristy I have done during the week, a restaurant I could eat myself into a coma in, books, plays, songs, people, ANYTHING.

I thought I’d start with something I really, desperately and passionately care about, because this could all go downhill from here. At least I will have covered something that I truly believe really matters.

This week, my wonderful geeks, I am going to ramble about The New 52. Again. Shut up, it’s my blog, I can do as I please.

Yes. So. The New 52. I’m not going to explain the whole thing in detail again, because I’ve done that before, and because you can find that on the internet, but just to give you a vague idea if you are clueless – in 2011, DC rebooted fifty-two of their comic book titles, and it is glorious.

2011, you say?! That’s a long time ago, it’s too late for me to get into this!

Not at all, dear friends. You can find the start of a story arc and hop in there, or scour the internet/back issues in Forbidden Planet, and get yourself caught up. We’re on issue #15.

So far I’ve said a whole lot of nothing, so FOCUS. I will mainly talk about the issues I actually collect, because, well, I know most about them, and it seems the logical thing to do.

These are they.

These are they.

Actually, now that I look at that picture, it’s missing a few (this is just the most recent haul, it doesn’t actually cover a whole month…), but I digress. I am a huge Batman fan, as you should well know by now, so a lot of the titles I go for are The Bat-Family titles.

ESPECIALLY BATGIRL.

The latest Batgirl series is written by the one and only Gail Simone, who is right in Barbara Gordon’s head, and makes her the coolest chick with a cowl that has ever been committed to page. The series also has this amazing way of being really moving, which is an achievement in any comic book – they get so few pages to get the story across, after all.

While Batgirl manages to be cool, moving and all around awesome, the latest Bat-Family story arc has added another dimension to the reboot- the reappearance of the Joker is terrifying. More than terrifying. Unnerving, thrilling, painful. While some comic books, yes, even Batman, have in the past been predictable and formulaic, there is just no way of knowing where the Joker is going to go next.

His face is also held on with elastic bands and buckles – that’s pretty damn creepy, too.

Unfortunately, I’m not enjoying every title as much as I am enjoying Batman and Batgirl. Suicide Squad, featuring the fan favourite Harley Quinn, is just not grabbing me. It’s not a regular purchase for me, but the couple I have read just lack something. The art, on the other hand, cannot be faulted. Is this not one of the most amazing pictures of Harley and the Joker you have ever seen?

Awk. Romance.

Awk. Romance.

It’s just such a shame that I can’t get into it- I really wanted to. On the other hand, I have found myself drawn to something I never thought I would be. Batman and Robin is really quite great. If you didn’t know, the latest Robin is Damien Wayne (Batman’s son, with Talia Al Ghul).

There are many Robins now. Click to catch up.

There are many Robins now. Click to catch up.

I didn’t like Damien when he first popped up in my precious universe – I thought he was unrealistic, contrived and difficult to warm to. The reboot managed to change that, although I’m not entirely sure how. They gave him a dog? Maybe that’s it.

It also makes it more clear that everything Damien does, he does for his father. While before, he was killing and ‘didn’t understand why it was wrong’ (they have done this before – Cassandra Cain, Huntress…), now it is obvious that he loves Batman, and truly wants to do right by him.

It’s adorable.

Oh…look. I have gone on for much too long, and haven’t even really managed to make any points. I should’ve known this would happen. I’ll finish off on a slightly different, less Batman-centered note. While I haven’t read it myself, there is one title from the New 52 that is constantly being ranked as the greatest – check out Animal Man and let me know what you think?

Click it real good.

Click it real good.

Sorry for the rant. I’ll rein it in for next week, promise.

S.

* You can get The New 52 from Forbidden Planet in Belfast, or order online. I trust Forbidden Planet more, personally.

** You can like me on Facebook. I would like that.

