First of all. 

In light of all the things going on in Northern Ireland at the minute, I thought it would be sort of weird for me not to say something. Especially given my latest quest to keep things topical. 

Also known as – the quest for ratings. That’s a South Park episode, so. Yeah. I stole those words.

Anyway, in a nutshell, a middle-of-the-road political party sided with the republican/nationalist vote, and it was decided that the Union Jack will now only fly over Belfast City Hall on a few designated days. There have been riots, death threats, violence and a mob mentality oh-so-typical to this country and it’s reputation. 

The thing is, though, that the majority of the country aren’t really all that bothered. In fact, we’re embarrassed. Yeah, I personally think that we are a British country, and we should fly the Union Jack all the time, but when it comes down to it, it’s only a flag. For the sake of a flag, people are hurting each other, and the country, with their actions and their words. 

I truly thought we were past this, Northern Ireland. I’m so embarrassed to be from here, and I’m disappointed that a DEMOCRATIC vote resulted in this situation.

Anyway. On to something more fun and geektastic. It’s been a while since I had a Game Of Thrones themed blog, given we are stuck between seasons two and three in this horrible limbo. Plus, Christmas is coming up, so…

GAME OF THRONES RELATED CHRISTMAS PRESENT IDEAS

(That’s not very catchy. Sorry).

First up, I had to share something I actually recently got as a birthday present, from a much beloved and darling friend. Suck up, ain’t I? These figures are VERY new, in fact, Forbidden Planet isn’t actually getting them into stock until February.

Too bloody cute.

Too bloody cute.

Luckily, you can get this and a few other Game Of Thrones POP! figures on the HBO shop now. I’m so ahead of the curve, huh? Click on the picture to be magically transported.

Look boys, I'm trying to apply more to you!

Look boys, I’m trying to apply more to you!

This Disney-style Mother Of Dragons t-shirt would, I am sure, be greatly appreciated by any Game Of Thrones fan this Christmas – have a wee scroll around Etsy, it comes in a variety of colours, shapes and sizes.

Hardback coffee table book.

Hardback coffee table book.

Next up, another little item I got myself recently, it was also a gift. From me, to me. That still counts.

This coffee table book, ‘Inside HBO’s Game Of Thrones’, is, out of anything on this very useful list, a must have for any fan. It’s funny, colourful, interesting and informative. And sexy, it’s definitely sexy.

I’ll let you in on a secret, too – the RRP is £24.99…you can get it in Tesco for £15! Bargain!

Finally, I am going to be a wonderful person, and publicize the amazing crafty work of a friend…

Westeros & The Free Cities map bracelet.

Westeros & The Free Cities map bracelet.

This bracelet is lovingly crafted by fellow fantasy geek Kyra, at her HearHoofBeatsThinkZebras jewellery business. She makes a whole bunch of fantastic Game Of Thrones bling – for ladies and gentlemen. You can find her on Etsy, or at St. George’s Market on Sundays from 10am to 3pm. In case you were wondering, this bracelet is a steal at £13.

So, there you go! Ideas galore. Hope these are useful, either for buying the special geek in your life, or for buying something special and geeky for yourself. Which you are perfectly entitled to do at this crazy, stressful time of year.

S.

Don’t forget to like us on Facebook…it’s appreciated!

