Yes, indeed, it has been a while since I did one of these. First and foremost, I am massively biased towards this little spot in the country – Tollymore is one of my favourite places in the world. It’s just so damn nice. Everything is pretty and quiet and green.

I don’t think anyone is remotely surprised that Tollymore made it’s way into the many tourist spots in Northern Ireland used in filming Game Of Thrones, it’s the oldest state park in the country, and it looks epic.

Seen here – epic.

Imagine my delight, when, during episode one, season one, I realized that the backdrop was extremely familiar. I have been hanging out there my whole life, I have played in the forests around Winterfell.

And I never found a single direwolf pup. Pfft.

Filmed in Tollymore!

In fact, if you click on that picture (go ahead, do it, it’s important), you’ll notice that the entire scene is filmed on and around one of the old stone bridges in the park. It’s unmistakable – unlike most of the sites I’ve visited around Northern Ireland, they’ve had to change very little.

Unfortunately, because it is so well known, they guard their schedules and the square mile around their set ups like you wouldn’t believe. Well, maybe you would believe, because if you were filming a huge budget HBO series, you wouldn’t want nutters like me on set, would you?

Strictly no photography. Or George RR Martin will kill off your favourite character.

So, in short – whether or not you are a Game Of Thrones fan, go here. It’s stunning, it’s instantly recognizable as the backdrop to a few huge scenes, and the staff are super willing to tell you exactly where and what was filmed where.

Which is more than I can say for some other sites, CASTLE WARD.

So. That was short and sweet. Here are some pictures of direwolves to keep you amused.

And there we go.

That’s me done with filming site blogs for a little while, I need to go actively visit a few more…and I’m lazy and it’s cold outside.

S.

p.s. Not to give away any spoilers, but season three filming in Northern Ireland wrapped at the end of last week – the final few scenes shot having been a few  weddings…

 

