Well, no, this is not Halloween, this is very early October. I’m trying to stay ahead of the curve.

After last year, when I nearly froze to death dressed as a Green Lantern, I figured this year, I would think of costumes more suited to the Northern Irish climate. I thought I would share these ideas with you.

I’m so generous.

I’ve noticed a trend in superhero Halloween costumes, in that there are all essentially onesies. I am okay with this, in fact, I am a fan of this. I figured Kick Ass is a good choice, because Kick Ass 2 is very much approaching (again, ahead of the curve), and look how snuggley the suit looks!

Erm…squint.

Well, that is not a great picture now, is it Amazon? Anyway, as much as I love watching girls tottling around in heels they can’t walk in, dressed as slutty woodland creatures and slowly turning blue, I think I might love this more. Power Ranger! Such a costume idea. You could be warm, still obviously a girl, and spend all night miming the Might Morphin’ Power Rangers thing they did to transform.

Hell, I think everyone should do that on a daily basis anyway.

‘Arry Potta!

I know, I know, I’m obviously just taking advantage of the popularity of the biggest franchise known to man by including Harry Potter in any blog at all ever, but it’s relevant, because robes are warm, and this costume would be dead comfy and recognizable  And sort of unisex, because girls dressed as Harry Potter are always adorable.

And face it, it could have been worse. I could’ve just suggested you wear a blue shirt and dowse yourself in body glitter. That would most definitely be taking advantage of the popularity of a franchise I don’t even like (secretly love).

Classy.

Or, get your Cersei Lannister on (man or woman), and go all flowy and classy. Just be careful, because if someone figures out who exactly you are meant to be, they are well within their rights to punch you and shout ‘That’s for the Starks, bitch’.

I would.

Of course, there is also the option to just embrace the fact no one will recognize who you’re meant to be anyway. I made the mistake one year and went as the kid from vault 101…children kept asking me if I was a member of the Raccoon City Police Force. Cool kids, but, still, fail. Maybe try and make your own wonderful, mad and obscure outfit. These are my favourite. Send me pictures, make my year.

S.

