It’s been a few days since I did a blog on the Game Of Thrones filming sites, mostly because I’m running out of ways to say ‘It’s a nice place to visit even though it doesn’t look anything like what it did in the series’. But hey, I’ll crack out the thesaurus and get on with it.

So, yes, Shane’s Castle, in Antrim. The castle itself is a complete ruin, so it wasn’t actually used for anything, but the extensive grounds were used, well, extensively.

The ruins. Very lovely.

The biggest scene filmed here is doubtlessly the tourney scene from season one. Heads up though – if you go the whole way to Antrim to see a tourney ground, you are going to be very disappointed with the small, overgrown field you are actually faced with.

I actually managed to walk right past the field (and keep walking for about half an hour) trying to find it. Unimpressive, but at least you can say you’ve been there, which is the point, right?

I wanted it to look like this so badly.

There were a few other bits and bobs filmed all over the place around the ruined castle, like this…

Barristan and Ned having a heart to heart.
Spoiler – no number of  heart to hearts managed to save Ned.

…but mostly, I liked my visit there, because they were actually in the middle of filming! Well. I was there on a Sunday, and they don’t shoot on a Sunday, but they had been there the day before. I have proof.

Starting point markers! Hurrah!

That small, blurry pink sign is for directing the cast and crew!

Also, some random man in no way associated with Game Of Thrones or HBO told me that there was a bridge somewhere being used for a scene with Brienne and Jamie.

Ok…so my proof is terrible. I bumped in Brienne outside the Europa on the same day, if that helps? No? Okay.

All in all, I wouldn’t really recommend the visit unless you are a die-hard fan, because there’s not really much to see. Maybe after season three has been committed to memory, but not right now.

If you want more information, go here :http://www.antrim.gov.uk/index.cfm?website_Key=27&Category_key=129&Page_Key=479…but don’t say I didn’t warn you.

S.

 

